When restoring a Google Drive folder to a previous version, will the restore overwrite the latest version?


Definitely NOT.

Safe restore

All restored data will be placed into a separate folder named Restored <data-time>, so that restored Google Drive/Team Drive files or folders will never overwrite the active data.

More information about the data restore is available at Restore Google Drive files or folders.