Disaster recovery of a CubeBackup instance.


A server crash can be an unpredictable disaster at any time. In the unfortunate case where your CubeBackup installation is completely unrecoverable, it should still be possible to connect a new CubeBackup installation with your old backups, provided that you have the encryption key file.

Step-by-step instructions

  1. Install CubeBackup on a new machine, or in a different directory on the original machine.
  2. Before going through the configuration wizard, copy the encryption key file to <installation directory>/db/keys.json.

    Tips:
    (1)If you did not choose to encrypt your backup data in your previous instance, this step is unnecessary.
    (2)For Linux and docker users, please change the ownership of the encryption key file to cbuser.

    sudo chown cbuser:cbuser /opt/cubebackup/db/keys.json
  3. In Step 2, choose the same Storage type and enter the storage location of your previous backup data.

    Tips:
    (1) If the backup data is stored in cloud storage, you can simply enter the same bucket or container name. If you are using local storage, please ensure that the backup folder location points to your original backup folder (e.g.\\192.168.8.22\backups\cubebackup_data).
    (2) CubeBackup will regenerate a new data index based on your original backup data.
    (3) Make sure that if you originally encrypted your backups that the Encrypt backups box is checked! If your backups were not encrypted, this box must be unchecked.

  4. In Step 3, enter the domain and administrator of your Google Workspace.

    Tip: If you managed multiple domains in your previous CubeBackup instance, you can choose any one of them.

  5. If your previous installation directory is still accessible, you may copy the service account key file from <installation directory>/db/jwt.json. Otherwise, you can go to the same GCP project in which you created the service account and generate a new key file to upload it directly.

  6. You can click Next and skip Step 4 if CubeBackup is using the same service account in Step 3 as the previous instance, which has already been authorized in your Google Workspace domain. If you need to authorize a new service account, please follow the instructions at Authorize domain-wide access.

  7. Based on your previous backup data and configuration, CubeBackup should have automatically selected the original users and shared drives into the backup list for you. You can look through the list and click Next if you are satisfied.

  8. In the last step, you will need to assign a CubeBackup administrator.

  9. After logging in to CubeBackup, all backup data and operation histories should be displayed in the web console exactly as before. You may wish to restore a test file to confirm that everything is functioning properly.

Please note that if you cannot access the encryption key, or if the backup storage directory is unavailable, you will have to begin the backup from scratch.

If you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at support@cubebackup.com.